Since the inception of the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider in 2009, Long Bay Golf Club has consistently been among the Grand Strand's highest-rated golf courses in terms of service, course condition and aesthetics/playablility.

Check out the most recent reviews below to see what your fellow golfers have been saying about their Long Bay Golf Club experience!

OVERALL SCORE: [8.4]

  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Based on 777 reviews »

Last 20 Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Peter on 10/24/2016:
"Played at Long Bay on 10/23/16. I was not happy at all with Long Bay and would not recommend playing it. We were scheduled to be the first group off the tee as we were departing back home at the end of the round. It started with the Ranger hooking us up with two individuals who hadn't golfed in a while. I had hoped to play in 3 hrs, but it took us 4 1/2 hours. The course is in average shape. The tees are not level and there were a couple holes where the holes are under repair. On a positive note, the fairways and greens were in good shape, but the layout of the course is only average. I would not recommend playing here."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.83]
  • Tees:
    [4]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [8]
  • Proshop:
    [7]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [3]
Sheila on 08/22/2016:
"My husband and I played Long Bay for the first time. The staff, especially Jason Mitchell made our experience a terrific one. We rented clubs and joined with another two of the out of town golfers. The staff was very friendly and the course was very well maintained. No gators though. We'll be back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.00]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Vince on 08/22/2016:
"It was my first time playing Long Bay. My brother in law spoke very highly of the course and its GM Jason Mitchell and all the staff. He did not oversell. The course was in great condition even with all the heat. The Bermuda grass was tough for us northerners but that's on us. The green were well maintained and the pace of play was good. My wife and I will definitely be back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Henry on 07/21/2016:
"Played the course in mid June and the greens were in rough shape but played about a month later and WHAT A TURN Around!! Greens are in great shape...a couple were sodded but are in good shape now. Tee to green everything is lush."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Joshua on 07/13/2016:
"I really like this course. I play it every trip down to Myrtle Beach. a few of the greens (five of them) have been re-sodded, but they are playable. The rest of the greens are fine and putted very well. Played our round in 3hrs and 30 minutes."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Keith on 07/05/2016:
"The greens on the front nine are in repair. Some have only 5-10 feet of putting surface the rest of the green is fill in turf. Probably good to pass this one up for now."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.50]
  • Tees:
    [8]
  • Greens:
    [3]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Doug on 03/28/2016:
"Had a great time playing Long Bay Club. The greens and fairways were in great shape. The pro and staff were very friendly and accommodating. I look forward to coming back on my next trip."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Kim on 02/16/2016:
"Long Bay greens and entire course is in excellent shape heading into the spring."
OVERALL SCORE: [10.00]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Bill on 09/26/2015:
"Great Course bring your "A" game. Staff was very good and pace of play moved along, but not rushed."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Seth on 08/11/2015:
"Great course. A must play. Played after a good deal of rain. Bunkers were good. course conditions great. Beautiful holes esp 7,10,18 and all 4 par 3's. Paid 48 hour rate of 49 and my son (11) played for free. 7:38 am tee time and course mostly empty finished in 3.5 hours. Staff friendly and cart lady thanked us for being out playing. With all the choices will be back to play this course soon."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.83]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Aaron on 08/03/2015:
"I wanted to just create a quick review to tell everyone that despite the previous reviews earlier this year this course was near perfect. Tee boxes, greens, fairways were all in pristine condition and I highly recommend this course. I played despite it raining .75 inches in the matter of 40 minutes, so wet conditions were to be expected. By the third hole any standing water was gone, and the course was easily playable. Please don't let the old reviews scare you, go out and play this course you will not be disappointed."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.50]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [10]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [9]
John on 07/02/2015:
"Course was in great shape...not sure what happened a month or two ago based on some bad reviews but when I played the greens were in great shape. Fairways were in good shape, a little burnt out in spots but that was to be expected with a couple straight weeks near 100 degrees. Definitely was well worth the money which was very reasonable to start off with."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 9.33]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [9]
  • Fairways:
    [9]
  • Proshop:
    [10]
  • Grill:
    [9]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Markus on 06/10/2015:
"Very nice Jack Nicklaus layout, challenging but fair course. The fairways and tee-boxes were very well maintained, the some of the greens had spots but nothing dramatic. We loved playing the course, especially some of the par 3's and definitely #14 are highlights. If you're in the area make sure to play it."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.17]
  • Tees:
    [10]
  • Greens:
    [7]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [6]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Tom on 05/21/2015:
"Terrible condition. In 20 years of Myrtle Beach golf trips we have never played a course in such bad condition. Huge disappointment. Why can all the other courses we played be in such great condition and this course has some greens with only 50% grass? And this was in April.....not August after a long hot summer."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.50]
  • Tees:
    [5]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [3]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Jase on 05/18/2015:
"Without doubt the worst experience of the 2 week trip. The WORST greens I have ever had the displeasure of playing on. The bad winter excuse didn't wash because if Arcadian Shores and Wild Wing can have excellent greens then so can Long Bay. Memories of the course are hazy except for the greens which is criminal. Greens this bad should afford a refund never mind a green fee."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.50]
  • Tees:
    [7]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [7]
  • Proshop:
    [9]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [8]
Tony on 05/17/2015:
"Long Bay was a big disappointment! We played 9 there in 2014 and had a rain check for the other 9 and the course was in great condition then. So we were looking forward to playing there again and even brought more people with us this year. Unfortunately, the greens were borderline unplayable, with bare (diseased?) spots on almost all of them and one was half under repair. There had been a lot of rain the previous few days due to Ana, but there were clumps of wet, cut grass all around the greens on a lot of holes and it was generally in poor condition. Compared to last year, it was night and day from great to gross. We played 4 other courses (one later the same day as Long Bay) and they were in great shape. So the weather could not be the blame. Very disappointing."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.50]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [5]
  • Proshop:
    [4]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [7]
Brad on 05/08/2015:
"Course in terrible condition. Greens by far the worst in Myrtle Beach. Staff unresponsive to concerns about condition of course, saying all courses in tough shape due to weather. We played 5 other courses in Myrtle Beach during week and found no other course in poor condition. This course will be taken off our list for next year's trip."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 4.00]
  • Tees:
    [7]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [3]
  • Proshop:
    [6]
  • Grill:
    [5]
  • Staff:
    [2]
Craig on 05/07/2015:
"Greens were HORRIBLE! Hardly grass on almost all of them and fertilzer pellets on all of them. VERY dissapointing!!"
OVERALL SCORE: [ 6.00]
  • Tees:
    [5]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [5]
  • Proshop:
    [5]
  • Grill:
    [10]
  • Staff:
    [10]
Jim on 05/06/2015:
"The staff was great, but that was about it. This course was probably in the worst shape I've seen a course in years. There was no need to even putt on most holes because the greens were so bad. I will not be back."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 5.17]
  • Tees:
    [2]
  • Greens:
    [1]
  • Fairways:
    [3]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [8]
  • Staff:
    [9]
Nick on 04/21/2015:
"Great staff, really took care of our group. Course was in good shape. This is in a housing development. Pretty par 3's ... Island green was memorable, as was 18th hole."
OVERALL SCORE: [ 8.67]
  • Tees:
    [9]
  • Greens:
    [8]
  • Fairways:
    [10]
  • Proshop:
    [8]
  • Grill:
    [7]
  • Staff:
    [10]
See All 773 reviews »