Since the inception of the Myrtle Beach Golf Insider in 2009, Long Bay Golf Club has consistently been among the Grand Strand's highest-rated golf courses in terms of service, course condition and aesthetics/playablility.

Check out the most recent reviews below to see what your fellow golfers have been saying about their Long Bay Golf Club experience!

OVERALL SCORE: 8.3 [8.3]

  • Tees:
    8 [8]
  • Greens:
    8 [8]
  • Fairways:
    8 [8]
  • Proshop:
    9 [9]
  • Grill:
    8 [8]
  • Staff:
    9 [9]
Based on 784 reviews »

Latest Reviews from Myrtle Beach Golf Insider



Roger on 05/22/2018:
" Very nice course in excellent condition. Greens firm and fair speed. Local residents on course very friendly and helpful. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Matt on 04/10/2018:
" Raining and the greens were still FAST!! Looking forward to playing with my rain check!! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Patrick Donnelly on 03/07/2018:
" Played there for first time yesterday. Challenging but not impossible for high handicap like me. Good courses start with friendly staff meeting and greeting you and they excelled. One recommendation- no course guide (and I'm not a tech guy with all the gadgets) so if you don't know the course you're doing some guessing. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Mark H on 02/25/2018:
" Last minute trip ended up being a great addition to the weekend. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Karen T on 01/11/2018:
" I am so excited to have a HOLE IN ONE on this magnificent course! Number 13 island green is one of my favorite holes! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Donn B on 11/25/2017:
" Play November 25, 2017. All conditions were excellent tee to green. Traps were soft and raked. Greens were difficult because they looked faster then they were. A great challenge and as a local we took advantage of great rates. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gary F. on 11/13/2017:
" Played LBGC before. Its challenging for sure but the conditions could have been better. It was ok but not exceptional. "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Laurie R on 10/22/2017:
" Great course and very nice staff can't wait to go back! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Peter on 10/24/2016:
" Played at Long Bay on 10/23/16. I was not happy at all with Long Bay and would not recommend playing it. We were scheduled to be the first group off the tee as we were departing back home at the end of the round. It started with the Ranger hooking us up with two individuals who hadn't golfed in a while. I had hoped to play in 3 hrs, but it took us 4 1/2 hours. The course is in average shape. The tees are not level and there were a couple holes where the holes are under repair. On a positive note, the fairways and greens were in good shape, but the layout of the course is only average. I would not recommend playing here. "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Vince on 08/22/2016:
" It was my first time playing Long Bay. My brother in law spoke very highly of the course and its GM Jason Mitchell and all the staff. He did not oversell. The course was in great condition even with all the heat. The Bermuda grass was tough for us northerners but that's on us. The green were well maintained and the pace of play was good. My wife and I will definitely be back. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Sheila on 08/22/2016:
" My husband and I played Long Bay for the first time. The staff, especially Jason Mitchell made our experience a terrific one. We rented clubs and joined with another two of the out of town golfers. The staff was very friendly and the course was very well maintained. No gators though. We'll be back. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Henry on 07/21/2016:
" Played the course in mid June and the greens were in rough shape but played about a month later and WHAT A TURN Around!! Greens are in great shape...a couple were sodded but are in good shape now. Tee to green everything is lush. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Keith on 07/05/2016:
" The greens on the front nine are in repair. Some have only 5-10 feet of putting surface the rest of the green is fill in turf. Probably good to pass this one up for now. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Doug on 03/28/2016:
" Had a great time playing Long Bay Club. The greens and fairways were in great shape. The pro and staff were very friendly and accommodating. I look forward to coming back on my next trip. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Kim on 02/16/2016:
" Long Bay greens and entire course is in excellent shape heading into the spring. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Seth on 08/11/2015:
" Great course. A must play. Played after a good deal of rain. Bunkers were good. course conditions great. Beautiful holes esp 7,10,18 and all 4 par 3's. Paid 48 hour rate of 49 and my son (11) played for free. 7:38 am tee time and course mostly empty finished in 3.5 hours. Staff friendly and cart lady thanked us for being out playing. With all the choices will be back to play this course soon. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Aaron on 08/03/2015:
" I wanted to just create a quick review to tell everyone that despite the previous reviews earlier this year this course was near perfect. Tee boxes, greens, fairways were all in pristine condition and I highly recommend this course. I played despite it raining .75 inches in the matter of 40 minutes, so wet conditions were to be expected. By the third hole any standing water was gone, and the course was easily playable. Please don't let the old reviews scare you, go out and play this course you will not be disappointed. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
John on 07/02/2015:
" Course was in great shape...not sure what happened a month or two ago based on some bad reviews but when I played the greens were in great shape. Fairways were in good shape, a little burnt out in spots but that was to be expected with a couple straight weeks near 100 degrees. Definitely was well worth the money which was very reasonable to start off with. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Tom on 05/21/2015:
" Terrible condition. In 20 years of Myrtle Beach golf trips we have never played a course in such bad condition. Huge disappointment. Why can all the other courses we played be in such great condition and this course has some greens with only 50% grass? And this was in April.....not August after a long hot summer. "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Tony on 05/17/2015:
" Long Bay was a big disappointment! We played 9 there in 2014 and had a rain check for the other 9 and the course was in great condition then. So we were looking forward to playing there again and even brought more people with us this year. Unfortunately, the greens were borderline unplayable, with bare (diseased?) spots on almost all of them and one was half under repair. There had been a lot of rain the previous few days due to Ana, but there were clumps of wet, cut grass all around the greens on a lot of holes and it was generally in poor condition. Compared to last year, it was night and day from great to gross. We played 4 other courses (one later the same day as Long Bay) and they were in great shape. So the weather could not be the blame. Very disappointing. "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Brad on 05/08/2015:
" Course in terrible condition. Greens by far the worst in Myrtle Beach. Staff unresponsive to concerns about condition of course, saying all courses in tough shape due to weather. We played 5 other courses in Myrtle Beach during week and found no other course in poor condition. This course will be taken off our list for next year's trip. "
OVERALL SCORE: 4 [4]
Craig on 05/07/2015:
" Greens were HORRIBLE! Hardly grass on almost all of them and fertilzer pellets on all of them. VERY dissapointing!! "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Jim on 05/06/2015:
" The staff was great, but that was about it. This course was probably in the worst shape I've seen a course in years. There was no need to even putt on most holes because the greens were so bad. I will not be back. "
OVERALL SCORE: 5 [5]
Nick on 04/21/2015:
" Great staff, really took care of our group. Course was in good shape. This is in a housing development. Pretty par 3's ... Island green was memorable, as was 18th hole. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Paul (Arnold, MD) on 11/12/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
William (Fredericksburg, VA) on 11/10/2014:
" Good course but too far from hotel. Will not play again because of location. There are too many quality courses closer in. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Jim (Menasha, WI) on 10/29/2014:
" Great course; interesting layout! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Antonio (Valhalla, NY) on 10/25/2014:
" Played this course before, good condition and still a challenge, however, they neglected to mention that an excursion of 60 lady golfers from Canada was playing ahead of us and they were very slow, we normally finish a round in 3 1/2 hrs, it took us 5 1/4 hrs to finish. Never got into a rhythm. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Kenneth Monteavaro on 10/25/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Tom (Depew, NY) on 10/20/2014:
" Only really remember it was in good condition and the staff was very friendly. Did not go in the pro shop or restaurant. "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
John (Fitchburg, MA) on 10/19/2014:
" Would not play again seems like the course never drains and you never get to actually get off the cart paths only which makes the day long and carrying you clubs on your back would be easier due to the layout. "
OVERALL SCORE: 6 [6]
Chris (Cambridge, Ontario) on 10/14/2014:
" Very good. "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Kris (Flemington, NJ) on 10/13/2014:
" Excellent. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Jeff (Whitby, Ontario) on 10/11/2014:
" OK. "
OVERALL SCORE: 5 [5]
Jim on 10/08/2014:
" Great place!!! Greens were perfect speed. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Scott (Matthews, NC) on 09/30/2014:
" Excellent course. Fairways and tees were too wet. Not the fault of the maintenance staff. I would definitely play here again, but not after all that rain! "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Derek on 09/18/2014:
" This was my first Jack Nicholas course and it was everything I could have ever wished for. Challenging but fair course. I'm a 9 handicap and played from the white tees which were the right tees. There is no need to punish yourself by making it any harder than needed, this course is plenty challenging. This is definitely a second shot course. You must hit the greens in the correct places or be prepared to be punished. These greens undulate, twist and turn with good speed. The greens roll true. The fairways are generous but make sure to hit them and stay out of the waste bunkers that are plentiful. If you hit it the waste bunkers just take your medicine and get back in play. I would play this course again for sure and plan on it. You cannot go wrong with this course. Just book it and play it!!! "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Chris (North Adams, MA) on 06/06/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Tim (Crown Point, IN) on 06/02/2014:
" Spectacular "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Bill (Yorktown, VA) on 06/02/2014:
" Pace of play was excellent. We played in less then 4 hours "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Pierre (Longueuil, QC) on 06/02/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Joe (Overland Park, KS) on 06/02/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
Marc (Minneapolis, MN) on 06/02/2014:
" Good "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Scott (Newcomerstown, OH) on 04/29/2014:
" New favorite course in Myrtle. Top notch "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Bill (Cromwell, CT) on 04/16/2014:
" A little long drive if you are staying in south Myrtle. "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Christopher (Shady Side, MD) on 03/18/2014:
" Very good condition "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Gary (Severn, MD) on 03/18/2014:
" Really good "
OVERALL SCORE: 8 [8]
Roger (New Castle, DE) on 02/28/2014:
" Spectacular "
OVERALL SCORE: 10 [10]
Buck (Lawrenceville, VA) on 02/25/2014:
" Great "
OVERALL SCORE: 9 [9]
David (Kunkletown, PA) on 02/20/2014:
" Fairways were very wet, had a lot of standing water. I think this took away from the various challenges for the course. It would be nice to play this course when it dries out. The greens were easy to read and putting was good. "
OVERALL SCORE: 7 [7]
See All 784 reviews »